Criminal Defense Shakopee, MN
An underage drunk driver is an individual under the age of 21 with alcohol in their system at the time they are driving a motor vehicle. The penalties that can result are fines, suspension of the driver’s license, and other penalties that are deemed appropriate by the judge. Even if an individual under the age of 21 has a BAC that is below .08, they may still be charged with DWI due to the fact that Minnesota has a “not a drop law” for underage drunk drivers.
If you or your child has been charged with underage DWI, the charges do not have to be accepted. Accepting the charges can lead to the maximum penalties. With an experienced Waconia DWI attorney representing you, you can secure a much better result in the case.
Quality Underage DWI Representation
In addition to receiving the representation that you need, you also obtain an understanding of the charges and all possible outcomes.
If a driver is under the age of 18 and they are charged with DWI, they will be subject to the penalties outlined by Vanessa’s Law. Vanessa’s Law is the result of the death of Vanessa Weiss. She was killed in 2004 when a 15-year-old unlicensed driver wrecked the car that she was a passenger in. Drivers under the age of 18 who are convicted of being under the influence of alcohol or drugs are subject to the following penalties:
- Must wait until 18 years of age to obtain a driver’s license
- The applicable fees must be paid before the driver’s license can be obtained
- The individual must pass a knowledge test before they can obtain their license
- A driving permit must be in place three months before the individual can apply to take their driver’s license exam.
- The judge may impose additional penalties, depending on what they find to be appropriate.
This law is in place with a lot of purpose and the main purpose is for teen drivers to be discouraged from driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. While these penalties are strict, a quality attorney can help reduce them as much as possible, when possible.
Straightforward Legal Advice
Even when conviction cannot be avoided, some penalties can be. There is also the fact that no one should ever have to go through the legal process by themselves. The legal system is confusing, there are many steps to go through, and having the right advice can lead to good decisions. Your Minnesota DWI attorney will give you the advice that you need so that you can make the right decisions, understand what is happening, and so you do not feel alone through the process.
Contact A Scott County DWI Lawyer
Underage DWI is considered very serious in Minnesota and the penalties are very strict if convicted. If you or your child has been charged with underage DWI, it is important to aggressively defend against the charges in order to minimize or eliminate the penalties. To learn more about receiving a quality defense and the options available, call Langemo Law at 952-556-0056 for a free consultation.